ICE CLIMBING

Free

ICE CLIMBING

Try it once in your life

Still little known to the general public, these ice paths are waiting to be climbed !
By climbing these ice falls you will be transported to another world for a day or a weekend. In fact it is not so hard. You will not need and mountaineering knowledge, the ice tracks offer easy climbs but also challenging ascents for the more courageous.

DAY – Chamonix, Cogne or Contamines

Initiation: Try to climb on water ice !
1 day – price starting from 95 € / person
technical level : **
physical level : *

Not far to walk (none at all for Les Contamines), this is a great playground for learning with many choices of difficulty. From Cogne to the Glacier of Argentiere or the artificial ice fall of Les Contamines, we can spend a wonderful day on these ice falls. No need to have a fear of the drop below as we will only be on small ice falls. Thanks to the development and advances in materials this activity is accessible to everyone.

image
image
image

ICEFALL WEEKEND

/ For a moment out of time
Two levels : from beginner to good level
2 days – price starting from 200 € / person
technical level : **
physical level : **

The positive goal : to be able to climb practically all the time on ice falls! Discovering the pleasures of ice climbing.
If the weather is very cold we will climb in the sunshine... just perfect ! If the temperature becomes too warm we have fridges that preserve the ice (not for the Pastis… )

image
image
image

SESSION – Few days to the mecca of the icefalls, Cogne

Experience great moments in this ice paradise.
5 days – price starting from 480 € / person
technical level : **
physical level : ***

Almost always in good condition from December to the end of March, the valley of Cogne and it's surroundings have some of the most famous ice falls. There are many various choices to climb. From the easiest to the very vertical wall like the "Repentance" or the cigare of "Patry de droite" (which is one of my favourites). Our base camp the comfortable hotel of Barme will ensure your warm and welcoming stay here. A restful night is assured of course with good food ... this is Italy !

image
image
image

SESSION ICE CLIMBING AUTONOMY

Teaching my knowledge, my mountain job
/ 5 days – price starting from 480 € / person
technical level : ***
physical level : ***

You want to improve in the lead or to learn to protect yourself with pins, clutches, pitons, ice lunula. Install a relay in ice or snow, to manage a rope in the slope or to manage your mind… so this session is for you. Every evening a debriefing will be scheduled with an analysis of the day. These 5 days are quite intensive, morally or physically. The security is the main point of the session. To know your guide by your side will reassure you on your progress.

image
image
image

SCOTLAND : A trip on the Ben Nevis

What else… you will remember !!
9 days – price starting from 800 € / person (4 people max)
technical level : ***
physical level : ****

Once you have learnt to climb on ice you can make a trip to Scotland for some big ice falls on Ben Nevis. This must be the Mecca of ice climbing . Well known the routes are never too hard but renowned in Scotland. You have to have enough preparation before setting off on this trip. Good materials and the right mental frame are important!

image
image
image

France : The Big ice falls, around Mont Blanc

The winter mountain
From 1 to 3 days – price starting from 170 € / person (2 people max)
technical level : **
physical level : ***

It is exciting to approach the mountains, on skis or snow shoes to climb an ice corridor. Unlike the ice fall these spurs are a result of the compression of the snow as it slides down the ravines. The belays are in most cases already in place and reduces the technical difficulty we find in winter. Having learnt on the ice waterfall, even only with a little skill it would enable you to approach this type of climb confident and relaxed.

image
image
image

CASCADE DE GLACE

La grande liberté

LA CASCADE DE GLACE

Chemins de gel à parcourir au moins une fois !

Encore trop méconnus du grand public, ces chemins de gel gagnent à être parcourus.
En les grimpant, vous serez transporté le temps d’une journée ou d’un weekend dans un monde inattendu et ma foi, assez simple à parcourir. Nul besoin de connaissances en montagne, les cascades nous proposent des routes vraiment faciles mais aussi plus raides pour les plus courageux

A LA JOURNEE – Chamonix, Cogne ou aux Contamines

Initiation : Osez la grimpe sur de la glace d’eau !
1 jours – Prix à partir de 95€ / pers
Niveau technique : **
Niveau physique : *

Avec peu de marche d’approche, voire pas du tout ( Aux Contamines ) le terrain de jeu pour apprendre la grimpe sur cascade est multiple. De Cogne en passant par le pied du glacier d’argentière ou la cascade artificielle des Contamines (car arrosée !!) nous passerons une journée enthousiasmante sur ces cascades
Pas de crainte du vide à avoir, nous serons sur des cascades de peu d’ampleur

image
image
image

WEEKEND CASCADE

Pour un moment hors du temps
Deux niveaux : de l’initiation au perfectionnement
2 jours – Prix à partir de 200€ / pers
Niveau technique : **
Niveau physique : **

La chance de la cascade c’est de pouvoir se parcourir pratiquement par tout les temps !!
S’il fait trop froid, nous grimperons au soleil, hummm. Et si les températures remontent de trop nous avons à notre disposition quelques frigos qui conservent bien la glace (pas pour le pastis…)

image
image
image

STAGE – Quelques jours à la Mecque de la cascade, Cogne

Voici une belle immersion dans le paradis des glaçons
5 jours – Prix à partir de 480€ / pers
Niveau technique : **
Niveau physique : ***

Quasiment toujours en conditions de décembre a fin mars, La vallée de Cogne est ses environs recèlent quelques-unes des cascades les plus connues, à juste titre ! Beaucoup sont d’un niveau abordables, voir faciles, jusqu’au grandes cascades verticales comme « Repentance » ou le cigare de « Patry de droite » que j’affectionne particulièrement. Notre camp de base, l’hotel tout confort de la Barme, endroit vraiment chaleureux et sympathique. Repos assuré le soir au chaud et bonne table !! L’Italie…

image
image
image

STAGE AUTONOMIE

Transmettre un certain savoir, mon métier
5 jours – Prix à partir de 730€ / pers (3 pers. Max)
Niveau technique : ***
Niveau physique : ***

Vous voulez progresser en tête, ou apprendre à se protéger avec broches, coinceurs, pitons, lunule en glace. Installer un relais en glace ou en neige, gêrer une cordée dans la pente, ou gêrer votre mental, alors ce stage est fait pour vous. Chaque soir un débriefing sera prévue avec une analyse de la journée Ces 5 jours sont assez intensifs, moralement ou physiquement. Mais toujours la sécurité est prioritaire et de me savoir à coté de vous, souvent, vous rassurera sur votre progression.

image
image
image

ECOSSE : Voyage au Ben Nevis

Que dire, un voyage au Ben, ben… ça marque !!
9 jours – Prix à partir de 800€ / pers (4 pers. Max)
Niveau technique : ***
Niveau physique : ****

Une fois acquis les cascades de glace, puis s’être essayé aux goulottes de glace, en route pour le Ben Nevis ! Tel la quête du Graal, (j’exagère à peine) un voyage en Ecosse, sur le plus haut sommet Britannique nous fera entrer dans le monde très prisé des glaciairistes Ecossais. Jamais très dures, les voies de glaces sont particulières, surtout pour l’assurance des cordées. Trois voyages là-bas m’ont plus qu’enchanté et m’ont appris qu’une escalade sur place ne s’improvise pas. Bon matos et bon moral sont recommandés !!

image
image
image

FRANCE : Les goulottes de glace, massif du Mont-blanc

La montagne hivernale
de 1 à 3 jours – Prix à partir de 170€ / pers (2 pers. Max)
Niveau technique : **
Niveau physique : ***

Qu’il est enthousiasmant de s’approcher des montagnes, ski ou raquettes aux pieds pour gravir un couloir de glace ! En conditions de mars a l’automne, nous trouverons des lignes au creux des éperons. Contrairement à la cascade, cette glace résulte, non pas du gel, mais de la compression et de l’écoulement de la neige dans les creux Les relais souvent en place diminuent quelques peu l’engagement que nous trouvons en montagne hivernal. Avoir pratiqué la cascade de glace, même juste un peu, me semble indispensable pour gouter a cette discipline avec une certaine sérénité.

image
image
image